SIMA Cotton Development & Research Association was registered under Societies' Registration Act XXI of 1860 on 4th day of November 1974 and was assigned S.No.100 of 1974. Signatories to the Memorandum are Sri K Venkatesalu as Chairman; Sri K Rajagopal as Vice-Chairman and Mr M B S Henry as another Vice-Chairman.

Members of the First Council of Administration are:

1. Sri K Venkatesalu Managing Director DPF Textiles Ltd, Mettupalayam Road, Coimbatore 641 011.
2. Sri K Rajagopal Managing Director Lakshmi Mills Company Limited, Pappanaickenpalayam, Coimbatore-641 018.
3. Mr M B S Henry Managing Director Madura Mills Company Ltd, Post Box No. 35 Madurai-625 001.
4. Sri K Sundaram Managing Director Lakshmi Mills Company Ltd., Pappanaickenpalayam, Coimbatore-641 018.
5. Sri R Ethirajulu Managing Director Coimbatore Cotton Mills Ltd, Post Box No. 1202 Coimbatore-641 015.
6. Sri V Vidyasagar Managing Director Palani Andavar Mills ltd., Dhally Road, Udumalpet.
7. Sri G Varadaraj Managing Director G.Ramaswamy & Co., Ganga Textiles, Pappanaickenpalayam, Coimbatore-641 018.